Book Review: Sister by Rosamund Lupton


It’s not often that I pick up a book and have to read it from cover to cover in one sitting. I’ve become something of a book snob since doing my own Creative writing courses, where I often edit people’s words as I’m reading it. So the more learning I do about writing the less I actually seem to read.

Still knowing this I dabbled in Amazon when I was ordering my text books for my new course and actually sellected the booke they recommended for me. One of those was Sister by Rosamund Lupton. On reading the blurb I liked it. Liked the idea beihnd it.  So after a few days the shiny book arrived and I opened it up and began reading.

The premise behind the story is about finding a lost sister whilst exploring the sisterly relationship. There are some distressing moments as the story unfolds, a believable sub plot and a few twists.  It is told from first person perspective  so you learn what happens at the same speed as the main protaganist. Luckily this is done at a speed that allows you to focus on the story and not worry about trying to keep up or having to reread sections to ensure that you understand things.

The story also makes use of modern communications such as email and texts and weaves them into the story without distracting from the plot.

All it all it was a good read and I have her follow up novel on my bookshelf waiting for me.

(Spolier) However, it has an abiguious ending. You have to decide for yourself how it ends. Although the story unfolds so the ending fits perfectly with the plot the way the ending seems to just arrive leaves you wanting to turn to the next page to doublecheck that it is actually the ending. I didn’t like it. (Spoiler)

Leave a Reply

