Fall of Darkness by Elle Bright


The lovely and very talented Ella Bright asked if anyone would be willing to help her publicise her new book ‘Fall of Darkness’ and I happily volunteered.   Her mini-interview is below.

Elle Bright – Indie Romance Author

Can you add in a quick bio? Please feel free to add a list of other publications here too!

Hi! Thanks for having me. Fall of Darkness is my first novel and will be released on July 5th. Born and raised in Utah, I have since moved around with my husband’s military career. I currently live in San Diego, CA with my husband, our three children, and our part human border collie.

I received my BSN from Grand Canyon University in Arizona. I am a practicing Registered Nurse, specializing in Pediatrics, Neonatal Intensive Care, and Emergency Medicine. When I am not working, writing, or parenting, I also enjoy reading, singing, running, dancing, photography, shopping, travelling, digital scrapbooking, and Zumba.

1)      Hello and Welcome! First question (or should it be questions), what is an indie author? What type of stories can we expect from an indie author?

An indie author (or independent author) is one who opted to forgo the traditional publishing route. Instead of submitting their work to a publishing house, indie authors assume responsibility for all aspects of the creative, publishing, and marketing processes. Each indie has his/her own reasons for taking this route. My biggest reason was that I wanted total creative control. My books are my stories and I wanted to share them MY way, without censorship from a third party.

Indie authors write in all genres. There is no specific type cast for indie writers. That said, the most common thread throughout indie publications is probably risk taking. Indie authors often break the rules, intentionally, for the sake of creative emphasis.

2)      What really drew you into writing?

There is the stereotypical answer… I have loved books since I was a little girl. I started writing poems and stories in grade school and noted that I had a penchant for writing. However, it wasn’t until about five years ago that I seriously considered writing a full length novel. I had all of these ideas bouncing around in my head. I couldn’t focus on what I was reading anymore. My stories wanted to be told and demanded all my attention. Nothing seemed as interesting or worthwhile. So, I wrote.

 3)      There are a number of sites out there for writers such as Wattpad, Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Websites, etc. Where can we find you?  (Links?)

I am on Facebook, Twitter, Blogger, Goodreads, and my own website.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Elle-Bright-Author/399211590194895

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Elle_Bright

Blogger: http://ellebrightwrites.blogspot.com/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18139273-fall-of-darkness

Website: www.ellebright.webs.com

4)      How hard or easy do you think it is for an author to publicise their work?

No matter what route an author takes (traditional or independent,) it is very difficult. The traditional route requires a lot of leg work to get your writing in front of the right people and to get those people to want to publish it. There’s A LOT of rejection involved, from what I understand. That said, traditional publishing offers more in lieu of editing and publicity. Independent is easy to publish, but much more difficult to succeed. Indie authors are responsible for the quality of their work and the promotion of it. No matter how good an indie author’s book may be, it doesn’t matter if no one reads it.

5)      Tell me about ‘Fall of Darkness’.  What is it about?  Who are your characters and why should we love or hate them?  

Fall of Darkness is my own paranormal spin on star crossed lovers. Here’s the blurb from the back of the book:

One woman, the fate of the world in her unknowing hands. One man, sworn to destroy her. A love so strong it defies nature. In a world of obsession, deception and betrayal, the line between good and evil fades, but one truth remains absolute. Darkness must fall.

For centuries, werewolf, Dominic Ridolfi, has battled the demons of the night, upholding the sacred pact to protect man from vampires. Yet when sent to destroy the long lost Cacciatori heiress, the vampire prophesied to free her kind from the curse of darkness, he finds himself reluctant to complete his task. The innocent beauty awakens his humanity and Dominic finds himself not in the role of assassin, but savior. Though he surrenders to the passion she ignites, he knows that loving her is the ultimate betrayal.

Swept away in a whirlwind romance, Kate loses herself in Dominic’s mysterious world of opulence and seduction. But Dominic has a secret. He knows the truth about Kate’s past, and her future, truths with the power to destroy them both. Only in her dreams does Kate sense the growing darkness within. Every day, she draws nearer to the truth about her shaded past. Dominic saved her once, but can she save herself from the darkness within?

Kate is your average girl. She has a good heart and the best of intentions. She’s loving, compassionate, and stubborn. My husband says she has a lot of me in her, but it is my hope that readers will find a bit of themselves in her. Dominic is a solid alpha male, but with a lot of heart. He is charming, passionate, and selfless. I find him easy to love. As far as my bad guys go, well, you’ll just have to decide who they are for yourselves. The main villain in this book is easy enough to hate, but there’s a lot more to the story yet to come. There are two sides to every story.

6)      What can we expect from the story?

Romance, action, humour, and heartache, to name a few. If you like Sherrilyn Kenyon, J.R. Ward, or Karen Marie Moning, then this is your kind of book. There is some sexual content, strong language, and graphic violence.

7)      When is it released?  Where can we get our hands on it?  (Links?)

It will be released on Amazon July 5th in ebook and paperback form. I don’t have a link at the moment, but will share it as soon as the book goes live. I am also in the process of distributing it to brick and mortar stores, so feel free to ask for it, if you don’t see it.

8)      If you weren’t writing what would be your (other) dream job?

Honestly, writing is what I want to do more than anything. But, I guess if I had to pick another dream job it would be a singer/dancer/actress on Broadway, a photographer for National Geographic, or a killer whale trainer at Sea World.

9)      For any would be writers out there do you have any words of advice for them?

Go for it! It takes a lot of courage to put pen to paper, but perseverance will pay off. Find a good writing group and learn from more experienced writers. I don’t know where I would be without the ladies from the Utah chapter of RWA.

10)   Last question (Promise!), What can we expect next from you? 

Fall of Darkness has at least one more sequel in the series, but I also have a handful of other books that I am working on. Some of them are a little more like Jennifer Crusie or Susan Elizabeth Phillips type books and the others are more like Linda Howard or Janet Evanovich. My goal is to be like Christina Dodd and cross over into multiple subgenres of romance.

Fall of Darkness by Elle Bright is released on 5th July.  What are you waiting for? Go grab a copy…  😛

Leave a Reply

