Ramadan


Ramadan

I am back with a small entry about Ramadan, I will enlighten you as to what is Ramadan to those who may not know what Ramadan is all about. I don’t know if many of you are aware of what Ramadan is or the customs around it but I have recently just started fasting for the month of Ramadan.

Ramadan is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar. The main thing people associate Ramadan with is the fact that Muslims are not permitted to eat or drink from sunrise until sunset. However it is not that simple, Muslims also are not permitted to smoke and other ill-natured activities that will take their focus away from Allah (swt). Ramadan is a time to focus on their religion and spiritual closeness with Allah (swt). It is a month of self restraint. Restraint from everyday enjoyment and curbing wicked intentions and cravings are considered as an act of compliance and obedience to God, as well as amends for sins, faults, and mistakes.

Now for me personally, it is a chance to rid myself of worldly desires and to focus on the spiritual side of my religion. I am not perfect and I don’t claim to be but I am determined to use the month in order to better myself as a Muslim and also as a human being.

Fasting is one of the five pillars of Islam and one of the main types of worship within Islam. Also during Ramadan, Muslims request forgiveness for sins in the past, pray for direction and assistance in abstaining from everyday troubles, and endeavour to cleanse themselves through self-control and great acts of faith.

Every year the month of Ramadan goes back by 10 days dependent on the moon. The lunar cycle determines the Islamic calendar and so that also determines when Ramadan starts. The month of Ramadan lasts about 29 to 30 days, it will only end once the next new moon has been spotted and confirmed.

Fasting is compulsory for adults and children over the age of 12. It is a time to get closer to God and the chance to seek forgiveness and rewards to better themselves and solidify their closeness with God.

The month has only just started so I will not go into a lot of details because it is too early for me to say how much of a change Ramadan has been for me, I will be back once the month is over and enlighten you all.

Thanks for reading!

Signing off for now!

Bye!

Leave a Reply

