Dr Who’s 50th Anniversary Special


Saturday 23rd November 2013 marked the 50th Anniversary of a little BBC show called Dr Who.  That is 50 years of classic cult television.  50 years of  aliens that scared us and Doctors who made it safe.   The special show was multicast around the globe in some 90-odd countries along with being broadcast in 3D in cinemas across the country. Homes all over the UK had people glued to their television sets as the story unfolded.

On twitter these were amongst the many trends:

 #DrWho50th#DrWhoDay #DrWho #TheDayoftheDoctor #DayoftheDoctor

 

Reading all the tweets and seeing all the posts on Facebook about Dr Who has made me feel as the Dr Who fan who started to watch it on a small black and white TV in my bedroom when others were watching the main TV, that I have a sense of connection with generations of people. 
My first Dr was of course, Tom Baker, with the scarf and the jelly babies, and tonight when I heard his voice my eyes welled up and I wondered two things, just how the heck did they manage to keep his appearance secret, and secondly, where was his scarf.
But before the immortal Tom Baker I saw Peter Cushing in the film adaptation (Dr Who and the Daleks (1965)). I can’t tell you how much love I had (and still have) for that gentleman for his many great performances in the horror films I adore.  He was a true gentleman throughout his career.
And speaking of adoration, I adored K-9, the small robotic dog, although I am waiting for when the Dr decides he needs a feline companion. as for his other  companions they came and went, some breaking our hearts when they departed the series. Rose Tyler’s exit had many fans gnashing their teeth along with Amy and Rory Pond’s recent departures. Other’s include Adric, who died trying to save the earth from blowing up in a Cyberman attack,  Donna being left behind and Sarah Jane Smith got her own series.

There were scary aliens and not-so-scary ones, the Angels, the Daleks, the Cybermen, the Silence, to name a few.  How shocked were we when they finally found a way the Daleks could get up stairs?
That is not to say there aren’t flaws in the show, sometimes the writing is just a little off, the sets a little bit wobbly and you can see the plot holes a mile off or even the way the Doctor escapes is a little too convenient, but I am a ‘Whovian’, I am a fan and that means I love my show, and even when it’s just a little bit off I’m still a fan.
Last night’s 50th Anniversary Special told me that I’m not alone, there are fans all over the world and  last night, I shared in their awe and their love for a show that started before I was even born and this experience will live within me for a long time.

Jelly Baby anyone?

From Digital Spy:
A statement released by the BBC confirmed that the special episode of the long-running sci-fi series was broadcast in 94 countries across 6 continents.

In addition to the TV broadcast, the episode was screened in over 1,500 cinemas worldwide.

Over half a million tickets were sold for the theatrical screenings, which were shown in 3D in the UK, US, Canada, Latin America, Germany, Russia and Scandinavia

Leave a Reply

