Moving House!


The time has come for me to move house. I’m not doing because I want to, the owner has decided that they want to sell the property and so with a basket load of regret and anxiety I’m frantically searching for a new place to live.

But this blog post isn’t about that, it’s about my wardrobe.

Eons ago I started writing posts about the ‘101 Things from my Wardrobe’ and now with a house move forced upon me I have to go through my clothes and actually, gasp horror, get rid of some.

This is not going to be easy, it’s also going to hurt. Just how am I supposed to narrow down what I want to keep and what must go? Having not bought a great deal of new clothes for the past few years I’m also faced with the fact that my favourite outfits have seen better days, worn and much washed along with much loved is it possible that I now have an excuse to buy new clothes once I move? But isn’t that just replacing what I’m getting rid off and just perpetuating the cycle?

How many clothes do we need? What is too many?

How do I narrow down what I keep and what I get rid off? Currently looking for a new job I have to keep my business suit for interviews and along with that the smart little tops that go with it. Then skirts for summer, or for winter. Long skirts, short skirts, smart casual and just casual. Trousers, leggings, shorts. The list grows. A wealth of jumpers sits waiting for me. Those smart little ones waiting to be teamed with smart trousers or a business like skirt for office wear and chunky knits perfect for keeping warm on winters nights. How do I determine which pieces go and which stay?

I can’t select by colour because in case you haven’t guessed it yet the colour scheme in my wardrobe is mostly black with added shades of black. Not just the basic items but much of my wardrobe is black. There are cute tops, vests, leggings, trousers, skirts, dresses. And accessories. Scarves, belts, and jewellery. More than I wear or will probably ever wear but throwing them out is not an option, some are sentimental items whilst I know the moment I discard one item it will immediately be needed.

So maybe I should just…. er…. keep everything?

Leave a Reply

