I is for Immortal


Apologies for being a day late.  I wasn’t sure what my topic was going to be for the letter I.   This is harder than you think blogging everyday.

I is for Immortal:

Immortal

n. – A person (such as an author) of enduring fame

n. – Any supernatural being worshipped as controlling some part of the world or some aspect of life or who is the personification of a force

adj. – Not subject to death

What would you do if you knew you couldn’t die?  There have been various shows and films about immortality.  Highlander for example. There are shows about demi gods, fallen angels and vampires. All different kinds of immortality.  But knowing that you couldn’t die no matter what happened? How would you cope?

On Dr Who they gave a character that kind of immortality and they became almost insane when loved ones died and they had to move on.  Can you imagine grieving for decades, centuries even as everyone you loved died?

Would you set yourself up as a god? Can you risk government organisations wanting to learn the secret of your power?

A Vision

I lost the love of heaven above,
I spurned the lust of earth below,
I felt the sweets of fancied love
And hell itself my only foe.

I lost earth’s joys but felt the glow
Of heaven’s flame abound in me
Till loveliness and I did grow
The bard of immortality.

I loved but woman fell away
I hid me from her faded fame,
I snatched the sun’s eternal ray
And wrote till earth was but a name

In every language upon earth,
On every shore, o’er every sea,
I give my name immortal birth
And kept my spirit with the free.

John Clare

I know I’ve shared the above poem before on one platform or another. My favourite lines are the last two.  For me that sums up being able to write poetry.  Those that I’ve had published are out there, giving my name an immortal birth and because I’m still writing my spirit is with the free.

John Clare was an activist and a poet. He was against the draining of the fens in the 18th Century fearing the change perhaps or knowing what we would lose.  He lived in a small cottage not so far away from where I live but until I began reading poetry for myself I’d never heard of him despite his fame. His spirit was in the land he loved evidenced by his art and poetry.

I’ve mentioned ‘Highlander’, the first film was amazing and some of  the later sequels were okay.  Late 90’s they brought out a TV series based upon the idea of immortals living amongst us.    I like the idea of being able to see history unfolding around me, seeing change and growth of cultures and ideals. To have answers to some of life’s mysteries would be good, what happened to the Mary Celeste? The Roanoke Colony?  Are crop circles really just hoaxes?  What happened to the Mayans? Does Atlantis exist?

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “I is for Immortal

Leave a Reply

