Cover models


So as I was thinking about releasing one of my stories it will need a cover right?  It’s got a little bit of sexiness in it, lots of forbidden sighs and longing looks and just a hint of the type of attraction that has you panting for more.

Sound good?

Why is it then, that all the cover models I’ve seen just don’t match up to my hero or heroine? Having read a number of stories and receiving any number of author’s newsletters I know there are a bunch of hot men and women out there adorning the covers of books.

But they are too hot.

Of course, a guy with a perfect six-pack looks amazing and the female counterpart has gorgeous hair and perfect legs (amongst other perfect attributes) but they just aren’t realistic.

My characters are from the real world, sure he goes to the gym and likes to run but other than that he leads a pretty sedate life.  Stuck to his desk, for the most part, he left the rippling muscle-bound body of a 20-year-old in the past.  Now touching 40, he’s still attractive but in a whole new way.

Maybe it’s me. Maybe I’m tired of seeing the same type of model on the cover of books.  Tatts and muscles.  Shirt open. Jeans pushed low on the hips.  Do we seriously all fantasise about the same kind of men?  If so, what am I missing?

Leave a Reply

