I lost the love…


This is my favourite poem. What’s yours?

Tele's Word Bites

I lost the love of heaven above by John Clare

I lost the love of heaven above,

I spurned the lust of earth below,

I felt the sweets of fancied love,

And hell itself my only foe.

I lost earth’s joys, but felt the glow

Of heaven’s flame abound in me,

Till loveliness and I did grow

The bard of immortality.

I loved, but woman fell away;

I hid me from her faded flame.

I snatched the sun’s eternal ray

And wrote till earth was but a name.

In every language upon earth,

On every shore, o’er every sea,

I gave my name immortal birth

And kept my spirit with the free.

View original post

Leave a Reply

